CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award
Past Recipients

The CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award recognizes remarkable achievements on the fundamental understanding and/or practice of proteomics in biological sciences. Formerly called the “CNPN Distinguished Researcher Award, this award was renamed in 2014 in recognition of the seminal contributions to the proteomics field of one of the most influential Canadian scientists of all time, the late Prof. Tony Pawson, who received the CNPN award in 2013.

2017 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award Prof Thibault
Pierre Thibault, Ph.D., Université de Montréal
Principal Investigator, Proteomics and Bioanalytical Mass Spectrometry research unit , IRIC;
Professor, Department of Chemistry, Faculty of Arts and Science, Université de Montréal

    Dr. Thibault brings his combined expertise in bioanalytical mass spectrometry and protein chemistry to the development and implementation of new technologies in proteomics and cell biology. In multidisciplinary research, these tools provide a deeper understanding of molecular mechanisms and post-translational modifications, which regulate the function and translocation of proteins involved in immunity and signalling in cancer cells.

2016 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award
Michael D. Tyers,, Université de Montréal Prof Tyers
    Dr. Tyers is an international leader in proteomics and systems biology recognized for his seminal insights into mechanisms of phosphorylation-dependent protein degradation by the ubiquitin-proteasome system. His contributions to the charting of protein, gene and chemical interaction networks and the systems genetics of cell growth and division have provided numerous clues as to the functioning of the eukaryotic cell. Dr. Tyers also recognized early on the necessity to archive biological knowledge into accessible databases and he pioneered the development of informatics tools and database resources for the computational analysis of biological interactions.

2015 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award
Guy Poirier, Université Laval
    Dr. Poirier is internationally known for his studies of poly ADP ribose polymerase, cell death and DNA repair. He has been the driving force in establishing a sustaining an innovative proteomics platform in Quebec city as early as 1991. Dr. Poirier has published > 300 peer-reviewed papers which have collectively been cited > 28,000 times. Since 2002, he holds the Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Proteomics. Amongst his numerous awards, he received in 2014 a doctorate honoris causa from the Université de Rennes (France) and he was awarded the Diamond Prize for Research from Centre de Recherche du CHU de Quebec for his contributions to the understanding of cell death.

2014 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award
Christopher Overall, University of British Columbia
    Dr. Overall is an international leader in proteomics recognized for his seminal contributions to the field of degradomics, the systems level investigation of proteolysis, for which he actually coined the term. His focus has been on understanding the role of matrix metalloproteinases in various diseases and pathologies, most particularly in cancer and inflammations. He holds the Tier 1 Canada Research Chair in Metalloproteinase Proteomics and Systems Biology, and has won several national and international awards, including CIHR Researcher of the Year award (2012) and lifetime achievement award from the International Proteolysis Society and the Matrix Biology Society of Australia and New Zealand.

2013 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award:
Tony Pawson, Samuel Lunenfeld Research Institute and University of Toronto
      Dr. Pawson was an international leader in proteomics recognized for his pioneering work on the mechanisms that underlie intracellular signal transduction. Through his original identification of the archetypal protein interaction module, the SH2 domain, and his subsequent embracement of technologies for mapping protein interactions, Tony Pawson has played an essential role in powering the successful wave of proteomics research and in nurturing the many outstanding proteomics scientists in Canada.
      The scientific community mourned the loss of Tony Pawson who passed away unexpectedly on August 7, 2013 at age 60.

2012 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award:
Michel Desjardins, Department of pathology and cell biology, Université de Montréal
      His pioneering work on subcellular proteomics led to the first molecular definition of the phagosome, an organelle that evolved from a phagotrophic compartment into a cellular structure fully competent for antigen presentation. His seminal contributions provided further understanding of the molecular mechanisms conferring specialized functions to mammalian phagosomes linking innate and adaptive immunity.

2011 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award:
Jack Greenblatt, Cellular & Biomolecular Research (Donnelly CCBR), University of Toronto
      His studies on protein-protein interactions and on the fundamental mechanisms regulating gene expression in bacteria, viruses, yeast, and human cells gave rise to remarkable achievements that inspired many others in the field. His seminal work on protein interactions network and the molecular dissection of important machineries such as the RNA polymerase and the chromatin remodeling complexes represent outstanding contributions that defined the landscape of protein complexes and its functional relevance in yeast and other model systems.

2010 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award:
John Bergeron, Department of Medicine, McGill University
      His ground breaking contributions in proteomics led to a high definition of the protein composition of important organelles such as the Golgi apparatus and the endoplasmic reticulum that provided valuable biological insights on the secretory pathway. He also led various organizations including Montreal Proteomics Network, Human Proteome Organization, and Human Proteome Initiatives.