CNPN Awards

CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award > See Past Recipients

The CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award recognizes remarkable achievements on the fundamental understanding and/or practice of proteomics in biological sciences. Formerly called the “CNPN Distinguished Researcher Award”, this award was renamed in 2014 in recognition of the seminal contributions to the proteomics field of one of the most influential Canadian scientists of all time, the late Prof. Tony Pawson, who received the CNPN award in 2013.

2019 CNPN-Tony Pawson Proteomics Award Winner: VanEyk

Dr. Jennifer E. Van Eyk, Cedars-Sinai Medical Center
Dr. Van Eyk is a Professor of Medicine at Cedars-Sinai Medical Center, Director of the Basic Science Research in the Barbra Streisand Women’s Heart Center and Director of the new Advanced Clinical Biosystems Institute where she recently moved from the Johns Hopkins University. She obtained her PhD at the University of Calgary and did her postdoctoral studies in Chicago and Heidelberg where she rapidly moved from basic research to biological mechanisms and biomarker development. A remarkable achievement is that she started her first company during her appointment as Assistant Professor at Queen’s University. She recognized the need for translational expertise and honed her skills in biotechnology as a Chief Scientific Officer at Cardiomics Inc. from 1999 to 2005. She has held Professorial appointments at the Johns Hopkins University School of Medicine where she was also Director of the NHLBI Innovation Proteomics Group. Dr. Van Eyk recently was recruited to Cedars-Sinai Medical Centre to start the Advanced Clinical Biosystems Research Institute with the motto “From Discovery to Clinical Care”. She also directs the new Cedars-Sinai Precision Biomarker Laboratories which is comprised of two synergistic laboratories. These labs provide targeted protein and metabolite assays for large scale epidemiology and population sciences via a contract service lab and for physicians via a CAP/CLIA lab. She is the winner of the 2019 The Donald F. Hunt Distinguished Achievement in Proteomics Award, US Human Proteome Organization; the 2015 International human proteome organization (HUPO) Translational Science Award; and the 2014 American Heart Association (AHA) Functional Genomics Translational Biology Council Medal of Honor for exceptional science.

[ see all awards and photos from the 2019 conference ]